Pipes too narrow for a combi?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Last year, I had two quotes to fit a new boiler in a first floor flat I own. One plumber (Corgi registered) said I could have a combi but British Gas claimed that the diameter of the incoming pipe to the building was too small. As this is just a flat, I can't replace the main supply pipe but I have since learned that the fellow in the ground floor flat has a combi and it works fine. So, now I'm confused. Is it possible that a combi on the ground floor might work where one on the first floor might not? Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but as most of you know, I'm a complete novice when it comes to plumbing.

Sponsored Links
Are you talking about the gas supply? if so, of course it can be upgraded/enlarged.

it works fine
There's unfortunately more to it than that.
The BG man is probably right, though perhaps he meant the pipe from the meter to your property.
Lots of posts here on pipe size - a vexed issue.

EliteHeat said:
Are you talking about the gas supply? if so, of course it can be upgraded/enlarged.

Yes, I realise that, Elite, and if it was a (freehold) house, I'd do that. As it is I just own a flat in the building and the incoming pipe is, therefore, communal and the property of the freeholder.

Sponsored Links
ChrisR said:
Well that's YOUR pipe, it isn't communal.

That's a good point, Chris. I'd guess the real problem is the areas it snakes through to get to my place. That will include the communal hall and possibly someone else's flat. I'll check up on this, though. Many thanks.

Wouldn't necessarily have to be replaced all the way to boiler, maybe just the first half of length from meter. Needs proper calculation done.

I've just put a combi on the end of a steel pipe which is buried in the fabric of a purpose built block.