Beko DE 2431 DISHWASHER - fills/empties, but no Swishee!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Got ourselves a Beko DE 2431 dishwasher, which alas, no longer cleans the dishes.

When I start a cycle, it fills with water...it eventually stops filling at which point some swishing should be heard....but presently it's a swish free zone. I explained to my wife that the dishwasher still fills & empties....what more does she want - but apparently she needs some serious swishing. (sheesh - wimmen, schwimmen)

Now I've had the baseplate off & can only see one significant motor....isn't the same motor used to empty? (the dishwasher still empties fine)...I'm inclined to think there's a solenoid not solenoiding somewhere (pesky solenoids eh?).

Info seems scant on the internet, there was one puzzling circuit diagram (puzzling not cos I'm not technical, but puzzling becuase it was drawn by a p1ssed Turk who used bizarre symbols)....

http://i49.tinypic.com/28r1thw.jpg

(schematic not exactly the same model, but close as - I gleefully nicked the jpg URL from this thread.... http://www.diybanter.com/home-repai...-swishing-circulation-pump-gets-no-power.html )

My question is, if a dishwasher fills, sits there contemplating, rather than swishing, will my wife eventually get tired of the dishes piling up & leave me? If so, I'm inclined to leave it as is

(ok, I really mean what could be the cause of the lack of swish?)

Sponsored Links
There is a circulation motor & a drain pump. These are the best illustrations I could find http://shop.ukwhitegoods.co.uk/adva...ch_in_description=1&keywords=DE+2431&x=33&y=8 The circulation motor has a 6 or 8uf capacitor mounted on the motor body. This may be defective in which case the motor will hum but not start. The same applies if the motor impellor is damaged or jammed by a rogue piece of glass or similar. Check to see if the motor turns freely first, if it does get the capacitor checked out.