Cable detectors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

First post here...

We've just moved into a new home (first time buyers) and there is quite a bit of DIY to do. I'm not really experienced in DIY having lived my whole life up till now in rented acommodation so I'd appreciate any help!

I need to do some drilling into a some walls in the lounge for shelves/blinds and have invested in a live cable/pipe/metal stud detector, but have just been reading some reviews of the model from various sites which have all been fairly less than favourable. My worry is of catching a live wire with a drill and meeting the big man upstairs a litttle to early.

I spent about £16 on the unit (from wickes) and thought that as it came from a well known chain it would be a decent unit but I'm a little worried about using it - I havent tested out the unit yet but wanted some advise first.

I guess a bit of common sense goes with it in terms of where cables would be running, but the previous owner had some fairly novel ways of wiring up the kitchen so I'm not taking any chances...

I need to test it out first but I'm already having doubts about this model - I guess it's worth spending alot more on a decent model to be sure?

Here is the unit:

http://www.wickes.co.uk/Wire-And-Pipe-Detector/invt/710290

Any advice?

ta.

Sponsored Links
new build should follow part p or 17th edition etc for cable runs so in theory
straight up/down for the run
It's only in the old that you may find a diagonal run across a wall lol
So give one a go.

and on a plus now if you drill through it just make sure the drill is insulated and you'll get a flash bang and probably a WTF moment :LOL: Then trying to fix it but generally no harm ?????????????

So give one a go.

and on a plus now if you drill through it just make sure the drill is insulated and you'll get a flash bang and probably a WTF moment :LOL: Then trying to fix it but generally no harm ?????????????