(central-heating) air in system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Softus said:
Softus said:
Onetap said:
Softus said:
Where is this responsibility defined? Is it, like a great many things, only in your head?
In the law.
Specifically, which law would that be?

Etc., etc., etc..

You seem to find difficulty in recognizing the simple fact that I hadn't bothered to answer you, Softus.
That doesn't mean that there is no answer.
I have other things to do and you're not very high up on my list of priorities.

However, the answer is that it is established in case law, the body of previous legal decisions. Probably the Sale of Goods Act would feature, but I'm not a lawyer and don't claim to know. I did a week's residential course on contract law a long time back.

You, being a heating technician and purveyor of fine boiler installations, would be expected to know that attaching a new combi to an existing installation that's full of sludge is not a good idea. You'd could also be reasonably expected to know that a open vented system might not wok with a sealed system , due to leaks or pressure failures.

The case law about contracts consists of previous court decisions which could be referred to, starting with Carlill v. Carbolic Smoke Ball Company (I kid you not);

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carlill_v._Carbolic_Smoke_Ball_Company

A solicitor would demolish your arguments in 10 seconds flat and drag you into the County Court.

The 15 years liability refers to latent defects; I'd imagine it was decided as a reasonable limit for liability in some obscure case. It is real though, I just can't be bothered to look it up.

Sponsored Links
Onetap said:
You seem to find difficulty in recognizing the simple fact that I hadn't bothered to answer you, Softus.
Really? My last post made it very clear that you hadn't bothered.

That doesn't mean that there is no answer.
I have other things to do and you're not very high up on my list of priorities.