Combi boiler AND header tank in loft??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I've just moved into a new house which has a combi boiler for CH and DHW. I'm no expert, but the boiler doesn't appear to have a top up valve on the cold water inlet pipe (to allow me to re-pressurise the system).

Also, I have found a header tank in the loft which seems to contain cold water, a ball-cock and inlet pipe. I tried draining a radiator and sure enough, the inlet pipe starts feeding in water to the tank. I have not found any hot water cylinder or similar anywhere in the house.

Can anyone explain why I might have a combi boiler AND a header tank in the loft? My understanding was that a combi removed the need for any header tanks etc.

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Worcester 24 and 28Cdi combi's can be fitted with a feed/expansion cistern using the Worcester open vent kit, fitted loads no problem, if it's a different make ask the manufacturer.

Thanks for the reply... it's a Vaillant boiler (not sure of model, will check it out when I get home).

After reading further on the internet, it sounds like I have a "vented low pressure system", rather than a unvented pressurised system. Some internet articles say these are unusual but can be used where pipework/radiators are old and may not withstand a pressurised system. There are other reasons such as building regs/certification etc.

Does this sound correct and if that's what I have, how exactly does it work and what is the purpose of the loft tank? Does the incoming mains cold water go into the tank rather than the combi I wonder? How does the combi know to kick in when a tap is opened (if there's no pressure)?

Not sure of exact model of Boiler but the instruction lists the following codes on it :

BCW 6B 242 EB
VCW 6B 282 EB

Any advice is much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
I'll chance my arm here: