Concrete subfloor question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, novice here. Just bought a house and the kitchen floor has a sandy mix at the edges. This sandy material is damp in places. It's the gap between the external wall (conservatory on other side) and kitchen.

The concrete subfloor is about 2 inches thick, then I think it is solid concrete under that. Would this be correct? Or is this a layer of screed?

Are there any issues with this floor construction? Granted there doesn't appear to be a DPM but the concrete floor itself looks dry in the centre, just damp and musty at the edges.

Pictures show
A. edge of the concrete subfloor with sand between it and external wall.
B. The kitchen floor behind the units and dry overall.

Thanks for any tips

Attachments

• 20220322_140447.jpg
    20220322_140447.jpg
    288.3 KB · Views: 80
  • 20220322_140541.jpg
    20220322_140541.jpg
    293.3 KB · Views: 74
  • 20220322_140638.jpg
    20220322_140638.jpg
    226.1 KB · Views: 65
  • 20220322_140806.jpg
    20220322_140806.jpg
    328.9 KB · Views: 75
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
This sandy material is damp in places. It's the gap between the external wall (conservatory on other side) and kitchen.
That immediately rings alarm bells for me. Properly mixed screed isn't loose or sandy and a concrete floor laid over a DPM or even a layer of screed over a DPM shouldn't be wet. I'd actually expect to see some evidence of the DPM bring lapped up the wall, but I see none in your pictures

The concrete subfloor is about 2 inches thick, then I think it is solid concrete under that. Would this be correct? Or is this a layer of screed?
I'd expect to see a concrete floor at 4 to 6 in thick. 2in is very thin and might crack. It is probably too thin to get rebar in there - rebar shoul be at least 1in in from the outer surfaces