digging out a small tree stump

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

As a total garden novice I'm not sure how to get rid of a tree stump in a raised bed and could really do with some good advice from those who know much better than me!

I've cut the tree down to around a meter above ground. It's around 20cm diameter (from what I can make out it may have been a coconut palm but had died after at least a decade) and I've started digging with a shovel and trowel around it. The space is quite limiting so I've only managed about 15cm deep.

Should I persevere with elbow grease or is there a simpler and faster way?

Sponsored Links
Four options as far as I know. Dig it out, grind it, chemicals or get a professional in. I've recently been through this and went with digging it. It was very hard work but ultimately satisfying. You can hire a stump grinder but it won't get it all. Chemicals can be nasty and take ages. If you want to carry on digging here's what I did: dig a ditch around the stump about 300mm wide, when you get to a root chop both ends of it with a saw or loppers. I was quite surprised just how thick a root long handled loppers would go through. Keep digging, keep chopping. Once you get deep enough you can start going under the stump. Its a lot of difficult digging. I used a pick mattock, thoroughly recommended.

maybe also try a post hole spade? and get a coarse grinding stone and give your spade an "edge" !!!

I've taken a few trees and tree stumps out of my garden by digging them out. nick is right - it is hard work, but can be very rewarding once you get them out !

I also used a mattock, like this : http://www.dimensionsguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Mattock-Sizes.jpg

The sharp edge can be used like an axe and is great for chopping through roots. The spade edge can be used for pulling earth out of the hole.