Digging out the floor questions..

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello
I'm a newbie...wondered if someone could help with some questions i have about digging out a floor.
We live in a 200-year-old terraced cottage with stone walls and flagstone floor.
We plan to install solar powered underfloor heating under the flags in the living room.
While we've got the flags up we're thinking about digging down a metre or so to lower the height of the floor and give us more headroom.
I'm wondering about the consequences and or possible problems to look for while doing that..especially..
* Damp - the internal floor will be lower than other internal floors the level outside and (though it slopes away steeply)
* Support - will digging out the floor cause problems for supporting walls?
* Cost - how expensive could this be - room is around 10m x 3m
* What other things should I be concerned about - budget for.
any help much appreciated
Andy

Sponsored Links
From a structural pov, the first thing that springs to mind is that you are likely to end up well below the existing foundation level. If you dig out wholesale, without first underpinning, you're not likely to have a house for much longer.

It can be done, but underpinning is around £600-700/m, so it's not cheap at 26 lin metres of that. DIY is of course much cheaper, but you need to know what you're doing, if you're not going to end up with cracks to the superstructure, as the building settles onto its new foundation.

If the cottage is 200 years old I would be very surprised if has got any foundations at all. Where about are you?

Hi, andy,
The point about the founds is a good one,
I once dug down on a similar building and found it was built on bales of wool.
good luck.

not so much a job, more a way of life.

Sponsored Links
perhaps the original occupants were three little pigs

If the cottage is 200 years old I would be very surprised if has got any foundations at all.