electronics buiding ,fault finding

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a novice tinkerer in electronics.
its a hobby that takes alot of google'n and patience getting nowhere sometimes,but a lot of satisfaction when you build a board that works well and can be used and not just create more crap to put in the top drawer.
For instance in building a infra red security cam that's the size of a 50p coin excluding the power supply.

Can U tell in single????:S

Sponsored Links
At school I started with building Sinclair radios and selling them to class mates until the teacher got wise to why there were so many hearing aids. This was back in mid 1960's when the new MAT transistor was used by Sinclair before he got into making computers.

AVO Multi-minor was may main test tool and as I got a little older girls became my new hobby.

I returned in around mid 1970's when the firm I worked for go new electronic traffic lights which I was taught to repair so had a cheap supply of TTL chips I could use. Many failures made a great windscreen wiper pause controller until the engine was turned on then it went crazy.

Mid 1980's working in the Falklands again started a renewed interest with loads a amateur radios being used as walkie talkies and I did some of the minor repaired to them and got a Falklands licence (VP8BKM).

On return to UK I did a course and exam and got my UK licence (GW7MGW) and again did some minor repairs on PMR radios. My son also passed his exam and I got into packet radio building my own modem (Baycom) this continued when I moved to Hong Kong where I got another licence VR2ZEP but on return did not really have the opportunity to erect aerials so the hobby died out.

However after an accident and going to college to study IT when it came to going to University I decided I didn't like IT so did degree in Electrical and Electronic engineering.