Getting a dishwasher for the first time - totally confused

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie here so please be gentle with me if I ask stupid questions. I have of course done a search through old posts but can't find anything which answers my question.

I live in a flat which my boyfriend and I rent from his mother, and she's happy for us to do the odd bit of DIY if we want to - so we're not constrained by what we can/can't do as we might be if we were 'regular' tenants.

Basically I am interested in putting a dishwasher into the kitchen. Because we might move out at some point, I'd really like it to be a free-standing one which we can take with us at some point. However, because the only cupboard-space available is partly taken up by skirting board, I think that rules out a full-size one with a standard height of about 85cm.

I therefore think I need to go for one of the smaller table-top style ones, which I'd still really like to hide away in the cupboard. I can just about figure out how to do the plumbing part of the installation, but I'm not sure about powering it.

The cupboard in question has a switch above it saying 'dishwasher', which leads me to believe that it's possible to plug the dishwasher in somewhere tucked away in the cupboards, but I have no idea where to look. Am I being completely stupid here? Feel free to tell me I am - I'm a total novice.

Sponsored Links
'Basically I am interested in putting a dishwasher into the kitchen. Because we might move out at some point, I'd really like it to be a free-standing one which we can take with us at some point. However, because the only cupboard-space available is partly taken up by skirting board, I think that rules out a full-size one with a standard height of about 85cm. '
I dont understand what you mean by skirting board bit.
The dishwasher will probably have a cut away at the back so the skirting board should not get in the way.