New Taps - Different fittings. Which adapter do i need?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

Ive bought a new set of kitchen taps to replace my old ones.

Looking at the old taps from under the sink they are connected using some type of push fit fittings (i think??) and plastic pipes.

View media item 61970

The new tap comes with flexible metal tails with what is listed in the instructions as a G 1/2'' female connector for the pipe end

View media item 61971

The G 1/2'' connector wont fit the existing push fit elbows, so the easiest thing i figured would be to get a push fit adapter with a threaded male 1/2'' connector to fit the flexi hose?

The i found what i think may be the correct part but since im no professional can someone help me out or suggest the name of the correct part i need to make all the connections?

View media item 61972

Many thanks
Rob

Sponsored Links
yes you could use those (don't forget to get an insert to go inside the pipe before you push them on) plus you shouldn't use a hacksaw to cut the pipe as this will leave burrs which unless you file them off will damage the "o" ring inside the fitting, you would be better getting two service (ballofix) valves & fitting them to the pipe (again don't forget the inserts for the pipe) & take off the nut & olive from the other side of the valve & screw your new tap fittings on (don't over tighten them)

I'd have got a pair of flexis with compression ends.
I can see no reason for supplying flexis with 1/2" swivel ends where the pipe needs to be connected.

The push fits you picture will be fine but, you could use two 15mm isolation valves, one end goes on the plastic and is compression, remember to put inserts into the plastic pipe. Then take the nut and olive off the other end of the isolation valve and your flexi will fit on there lovely, doing it this way means you'll be able to isolate the water to the tap for future maintenance/ if you ever need to replace the tap :D

Sponsored Links