Radiator questions/Central Heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - I am studying central heating as a module. I have a few points that I think is right but would be appreciative if anyone could tell me if the following points are wrong/or could be slightly added to.... Thank you for your time help and advice. Best wishes, James.

first point: if one radiator is not warming up at all the reasons could be:
TRV pin is stuck
TRV sensor head is faulty
Sludge in the bottom of the radiator

are there any other common reasons?

second point: the point of an injector tee is: used for gravity primaries (as with solid fuel boilers) - to allow the gravity return to flow through the boiler and circuit at a better flow rate?

point 3: A bypass circuit and automatic bypass valve is ideally fitted when a system with 2x2 port valves and/or TRVs is used. As the TRvs close and the pressure goes above the pre-set limit on the auto bypass valve, it opens and allows the weater to flow around the bypass circuit, thus preventing a slow water flow rate through the boiler, and possible kettling and damage to the boiler heat exchanger. Although a lot of modern boilers (system boilers) have bypass circuits built in now. BUT a heating system using a 3-port mid position valve does not need a bypass valve at all - as there is always at LEAST one port open??

point 4: When removing a rad fitted with a TRV a TRV cap should be used and the sensor head removed to fully shut off the water flow to the radiator. And not all TRV caps fit all TRV's!!

thanks again for any extra help you can give me and any corrections to my above findings...

Sponsored Links
System not balanced could also be a cause on rad not heating as could air lock.

Y-Plan still requires an auto by-pass (Part L) but you could also have an unlikely situation where HW satified, TRV's shut down, customer takes off the only non-TRV'd rad off (decorating) with r/stat calling.