Shower..again.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I was hoping to add this to a previous thread, but its marked "no further replies", hence this.

I arranged to have my shower (the one I've been dithering about replacing for about 3 years)replaced by an electrician today. Sadly he's has taken ill over the weekend, so nothing doing. Which has got me thinking about other options in case (as I suspect) he's actually too busy to take on this job right now.

In the course of getting the place ready for the electrician's convenience, I moved stuff around in the loft and found that all the cables entering the roof space are laid on insulation in a gap at the edge of the loft boards, which in the case of the shower makes all the wiring easily accessible following the removal of just one loft board. The cables go underfloor from the CU, which is in the porch, and then travel up to the loft in a void behind the wall. So to replace the shower cable I would need to pull old cable out and feed the new cable down into the void from the loft (I'm assuming that feeding down with gravity would be better than feeding up against any potential obstructions).

I followed the existing shower cable in the loft and found that yes, its laid in 4mm from the isolator in the bathroom to the CU, but for some reason there's much heavier cable ( looks like 10mm plus) from the isolator to the shower, so the capacity of the circuit remains 4mm. If, as I suspect my electrician becomes hard to pin down for an alternative date, it seems feasible to me that I could lay new 10mm cable from a new isolator to the CU, then ask a spark to come in, install an uprated MCB, connect to the CU and test, a solution which would be cheaper than having the whole job done by a professional.

Hopefully the original electrician will be in touch with a new date for doing the entire circuit, but in the meantime I think its reasonable to explore other options because the time for twiddling thumbs is now over.