A question for real sparks (Not DIY)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, i'm an apprentice due to start in college in a couple of weeks. I have been using this site as a useful resource for helping me understand more abput electrics. I intend to stick around, mainly to learn from the sparks on here, and maybe give out help as I go along.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone on here could explain to me three-phase electricity. Why do we use it?

I have a vague idea, but when I look to back up what I already know with facts I am presented with maths equations which are far to advanced for me yet. I hope you can help me understand how 3-phase works.

Many thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
someone asked this a few weeks ago. someone will give you a link. ended up spanning about 15 pages in 2 days :LOL:

because the power stations have 3 sets of windings on the generators :?: ducks for cover back to the plumbing forum :LOL:

Nige F said:
because the power stations have 3 sets of windings on the generators :?: ducks for cover back to the plumbing forum :LOL:
there you have it. the reason we have 3 phase. from a plumber. :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
Basically its the more efficient way of distributing power, also 3 phase motors are a lot more efficient than 1 phase.

TheGaffersSon said:
Anyway, I was wondering if anyone on here could explain to me three-phase electricity. Why do we use it?
ok first a bit of background:

DC as you probablly know is a PITA to voltage convert

single phase AC suffers from 2 main problem
Firstly the power varies from zero to twice the average, this variation inevitablly gets transmitted to the mechanical side of motors and generators making them run in a manner thats not very smooth.
Secondly motor design for single phase AC is quite awkward.