304EFBD4-0161-4741-ADD4-5DE57F41DD17.jpeg
06C60C07-A136-40D6-A006-DDE7EA054F2B.jpeg
948869FD-6615-4ABD-A721-23F1D6BDA2B3.jpeg
C0C28DAA-E43D-46F3-A889-E7B441335B19.jpeg
99DC686B-AF4F-497E-A538-0490EAE1D006.jpeg
Hi there,
I’m a newbie so please be gentle! My boyfriend and I bought a late 1930’s house in september and very naively (read stupidly) only got a basic survey because nothing looked untoward with the house (lesson learnt). Nearly six months later and I’m having a nervous moment about our bay window. It’s two stories and when we moved in had the cracks in my album and shown here (bay window on my profile) but I have only just noticed the external cracks to the mortar. I have generalised anxiety disorder so sometimes struggle to separate what is actually a problem and what is nothing to worry about. The cracking to the external mortar seems to be the areas that catch the most rain and stay damp the longest, if that helps. We do not have any interior damp problems (that I have found yet!). Basic survey said house had suffered from structural movement but historic and non-progressive. Any wisdom would be gratefully appreciated, I’m terrified because we don’t have thousands in the bank to sort it out thank you in advance

Attachments

• 6A349D44-210A-4525-87B7-EE32BBF1F618.jpeg
    6A349D44-210A-4525-87B7-EE32BBF1F618.jpeg
    231 KB · Views: 192
Sponsored Links
Bay windows can be notorious for sagging, but that doesn't mean they aren't okay. You could get the outside mortar repointed, and then keep an eye on it for further cracks. Do the windows open easily, or do the catch, and do you know how long ago the windows were installed. Is there any cracking internally upstairs.