BEST YOUVE FOUND

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys/girls ,

Now we are getting thrown into the waterbased paint because of oil yellowing so quick, what are the best you've found?? I'm yet to use Sikkens waterbased but that's meant to be really good. Mine are as follows-

Eggshell - Little Green 8/10

Satin - Johnstone's 7/10

Gloss - Johnstone's 5/10

Ive been using all different WB products of late (non compare to oil) my problems are -

In most cases need 3coats

You need to be quick as the edge dries to fast and flashes.

You need to take your time and try to leave no brush marks but seems impossible

Caulk crazes through the paint

Just intrested in everyones view, I've been painting and decorating for many years and feel like paint has gone backwards.

Sponsored Links
Really appreciate your feedback on this as it gets expensive trying all these different paints. Would be nice if the manufacturers could throw a few free samples our way wouldn't it.

I think you have yet to try the best of the lot which is the Sikkens, i've used the BL primer u/c and the BL satura, both are very good, stays open well and providing you use a decent synthetic brush brushmarks arn't a problem. As i've mentioned in previous posts Sikkens are meant to be releasing magura soon which is their gloss finish, for some reason its not available in the UK at the moment.

I'd heard good things about little greens eggshell but yet to try it as i don't get much eggshell work.
Sikkens rubbol paints don't seem to be affected to much by the yellowing, i went back to a house i did in rubbol satura last year and had a good look at it and it seems ok and i've not had any calls from customers complaining.