Boiler Quote

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been using the Worcester 24i combi boiler for 13 years and I think it's time for a replacement since new boilers are A rated efficiency which will save some gas and electricity so the first thing we did is rang British Gas for a quote since they offer £400 off and HomeCare 300 for a year.

The quote we have been given is British Gas 532 boiler, horizontal flue with standard plume kit (£1801.24), installation and pipework (£1668.01) and electronic boiler control (£103.96) which the total comes to £3173.21 but the installation is nearly the same cost as the boiler, so what are your thoughts?

Sponsored Links
1 year warranty? Independents will offer at least 5 years on a better boiler.

HomeCare plan free?

Wtf is a warranty for then?

£400 trade in? Don't make me laugh ;)

I will get some quotes from other companies around my area, I know I should look for a Gas Safe Register but what else?

Also what's the best and reliable boiler brand I should also look for as well?

Sponsored Links
"which boiler" threads are a weekly and reciprocal occurance.

Recommendations from friends and neighbours is your best starting point.

Plenty of professionals on here work in London too.

Our boiler prefence goes something like this

Intergas
Atag
Vaillant
Vokera

Sorry if I have missed somthing....but...

Your boiler is 13 years old, which is not that old and it sounds like it is working fine.

Why spend a lot of money, just to save a smallish amount of money per year. It will probably take you 5-10 years just to make the money back in savings. Probaly nearer 10 years if your current boiler has an efficiency rating in the high 70s.

Maybe spend the money on better heating controls, thermostatic valves, insulation. All these other things may have a much bigger impact and shorter payback time.