Candy CM462 Washing Machine Problem - Help Needed Please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've got a Candy CM462 washing machine which has suddenly developed a fault. It's 3 years old &, wouldn't you know it, the warranty ran out in December :( It takes in the water ok & empties the water ok but it's not washing or spinning i.e. the drum is not turning. The pump runs regardless of what programme I put it on but the lights on the front panel start flashing. The pump even starts when the door is open! Because it's not spinning the clothes come out sopping wet.

The pump runs ok, the small hole in the door seal is clear/clean, the filter is clear/clean, the hose is clear & positioned correctly. the drainpipe & drain are both clear. I took the top off & can see that the belt is ok. There's no funny smells or strange noises. I've checked all those things (not touched anything though as I'm not technically minded) & just don't know what else to look/check for.

I'm a female on my own with 3 children who, although I work full time, can't afford the call-out fees for an engineer - especially if it means I'm likely to find that it can't be fixed or would be very expensive to fix.

I'd be extremely grateful if anyone could help with any suggestions as to what might be wrong & whether it's likely to be expensive please.

Thank you so much in advance.

Sponsored Links
It is possibly just the motor brushes or door switch, but I would have thought that to be unusual for the brushes to fail on a 3 year old machine, which leaves you with a duff motor or control board which would in all probability be an expensive repair. When you say the pump runs with the door open do you mean it runs continually? Also when the panel lights flash, do you mean they flash normally or are they in a sequence that they did not flash in prior to the fault appearing?

Hi,

Thank you so much for your message.