CONSERVATORY - DIY

Sponsored Links
ADENCOOL said:
1) was it easy enough to consider doing it again
I used to do it for a living but average diy'er should cope.If you come unstuck there should be a helpline phone number with your instruction to help you otherwise they wouldn't be able to sell it on to the public or I can help you as you go along and also you might need a bricklayer to complete the job.
2) did you save any money compared to having a window company install
You will save money otherwise they couldn't sell it on as it became pointless,but having said that get a couple of quote as they are getting cheaper.
3) did you build your own base
See this to help you,if not get back to us.
4) any other relevant info you think i should know
Yes,read the instruction about 10 times :!: a week before you start,keep looking at the parts and try understand where they go. To make life easier label each one where they got to go,make a drawing plan up with code number etc to identify the parts.Don't rush it and take your time and be patient.

I had my builders put my screwfix delux Victorian dwarf wall one up when they were around doing a big extension.
Conserv was £3500 for 3m X 3m fromScrewfix Big stuff (inc delivery, but it does not include the bricks for the dwarf wall).

Cost of laying base, supply and building cavity dwaft wall (including laser cutting of bricks to squint angles) and supply, cutting and fitting window sils was £3000

Base was dug and poured with the main extension foundations, 1/2 day to build dwarf wall. 2 days to assemble conserv (3 guys working)

I'd never get a mahogany (uPVC) double glased Victorian conservatory from any window company for anything close to £6500.
I'd say that the erection cost was so low as they had all the gear on site for the main extension anyway (concrete was delivered ready mixed via concrete pump - mega fast).