Cutting concrete base

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I've been reading this forum for a while now and have now finally signed up. :D

I hope some of you can answer my question.

I am soon to demolish my concrete sectional garage with asbestos cement sheet roofing. When it is down I want to keep 1/2 of the concrete base. The front half is all cracked but the back half is in decent condition and I am planning to cut it in half and use the base to put a new shed on.

I am a reasonable DIY’er and want to do the whole project myself to save money.

I have seen masonry saws for hire but I have never used one before.

I would like to cut a straight, neat line in the base. Is this possible or am I best just ripping the whole thing up?

It would be nice to keep half the base to save time and money.

The front half after the cut I will take up and put down lawn.

The base is 4 inch's thick and as far as I aware not enforced.

How and where do I even start?

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Check out concrete cutting saws at the local hire place......you can get them with a trolley so there's no stooping, and all have a water hose connection to keep the dust down.
Tell them what you are doing and they'll fix you up with a diamond cutting blade....you'll be amazed how efficient these can be.
Mark out where you want to cut using a permanent marker or chalk, and have a little practice with the machine on part of the concrete thats going to be broken.
If you find it difficult to cut straight, fix down a length of timber say 2" x 3/4" as a cutting guide.
Use ear defenders and goggles, which usually come with the machine.
John :)

head off to your local hire shop and ask for a stihl saw 12" diamond blade ask for a trolly most have a cutting guide or see if they have a Floor saw
as for marking the line use a stright edge and line making spray this will give you a 100% line and not rick washing away like chalk or marker.