Dimplex electric fire not working

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by lasto, 18 Oct 2010.

  1. lasto

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    After almost 5 years of fault free use, my Dimplex heater has stopped working - just in time for the first cold!

    The model is a "Navarra NAV15P Pebble" (links at bottom) and there are some symptoms that have me baffled. The fire has the usual flame effect driven by a small motor and two 60W bulbs, neither of which are working. I've changed the bulbs and the plug fuse with no change.

    Every so often, I've been switching it on at the mains socket to see the two bulbs briefly flicker then go out. Does the fact that there is some electricity flow, albeit for milliseconds, mean that the fault is probably electrical?

    Any helpful advice would be gratefully received!

    Sarah

    http://www.dimplex.co.uk/assets/kb/operating_instructions/Navarra_Pebble_Instructions_-_Issue_3.pdf

    http://www.dimplex.co.uk/assets/kb/self_help_guide_diagnostics/fires_and_surrounds.pdf
     
  2. pjcomp

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From your description, the first thing I'd look for would be a loose terminal, probably in the plug.

    PJ
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. lasto

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks PJ, I'll check for that and report back :)
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,109
    Thanks Received:
    1,999
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Handy Tip:

    When replacing a fuse, always check the tightness of the electrical connection and cord grip screws at the same time. You've already got the plug open and in your hand, and a screwdriver in the other hand - takes only seconds to do.

    :cool:
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. lasto

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've checked the plug and followed your advice, sheds, and while everything looks much tidier, it hasn't solved the problem.

    As it sounds like a connection problem, should I try to check the wires at the other end of the cable, i.e. take the back of the fire and see if anything is loose there?
     
  6. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,109
    Thanks Received:
    1,999
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does anything else you plug into that socket work OK?

    If you plug the fire into other sockets does it behave in the same way?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. lasto

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, unfortunately - it doesn't make a difference when I tried it with two other sockets. The TV works fine in the socket that the fire takes normally. :(
     
  8. SparkoJon

    Joined:
    22 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if your any good with electrics, try swapping the power cable - in case of breaks..

    Otherwise, maybe using a multimeter (with the electric turned off and unplugged) have a look for breaks inside?
     

Share This Page