Distribution box from 32amp generator supply?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I run a small event marquee which has recently been bumped up to a 32 amp requirement by the addition of an electric urn. I need to distribute the power around the marquee but being an ex engineer I would rather make a PATable distro box than blow £200ish off the shelf.

During research I found a paragraph in official literature which said there is no obligation for "safety devices" on outdoor equipment up to 32 amp. My PAT man suggested I build a consumer unit board anyway and I'm inclined to agree, for safety sake.

However, I have had experience of inline RCDs over reacting when used off a generator. Anyone have any comments about RCDs and generators? Could this be due to voltage drop over my 100m 6mm2 cable? Fluctuating supply?

If this is the case I'm inclined to wire 3x 13amp 6gangs into the 32amp cable via a sturdy 60amp connector box or something. Maybe a IP65 junction box. Basically it's about £5 because I have all the other pieces.

So
1) Is the cheapest option legit and PATable? (although at the cost of safety devices)

2) If not, any comments on RCDs with generators and suggestions for consumer unit config? (eg. 40amp 30ma RCD, 2x 16amp MCBs, 2x double sockets)(or RCDs on the sockets instead of the board)

Any input at all on this would be useful and appreciated.

Ta.

Sponsored Links
During research I found a paragraph in official literature which said there is no obligation for "safety devices" on outdoor equipment up to 32 amp. My PAT man suggested I build a consumer unit board anyway and I'm inclined to agree, for safety sake.

If anything, the requirements for a temporary electrical installation such as yours will be far more stringent than a typical fixed installation. I'm not sure what literature you read, but it sounds incorrect to me.