Drainage advice?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi we moved into our house Nov 2015 and the first winter all the grass died we had Moss all down the left side near the fence and the lawn was very boggy.

IMG_20160317_180617.jpg

IMG_20160309_074532.jpg

I aerated the lawn, put sharp sand down in places and added compost and top soil then reseeded the lawn.

This winter the grass has survived bit it's patchy in places and we still have trouble with water pooling when it rains in places.The grass is also squelchy.
IMG_20170125_WA0004.jpg

What could I do to improve the drainage? I've looked at perhaps putting in French drains but I've nowhere for the water to go.

The only drain we have in the garden is where the sink, washing machine water goes to

IMG_20170309_WA0003.jpg

Would it be worth rotavating it and adding in sharp sand & compost then re seeding?

Sponsored Links
Now I'm no expert in this, but you can see that there's too much water pooling to be dealt with by adding things to the soil. Although what is the makeup of the soil, is it clay based, and how far does the soil go down before chalk etc. Moss overtakes the grass because of poor drainage, or from poor sunlight in the garden.

I suspect you need a land drain here to drain the excess water away, but are the drains low enough to get the land drain into, or would you need to take it into a soakaway. Here's a quick article for installing a land drain

Now I'm no expert in this, but you can see that there's too much water pooling to be dealt with by adding things to the soil. Although what is the makeup of the soil, is it clay based, and how far does the soil go down before chalk etc. Moss overtakes the grass because of poor drainage, or from poor sunlight in the garden.

I suspect you need a land drain here to drain the excess water away, but are the drains low enough to get the land drain into, or would you need to take it into a soakaway. Here's a quick article for installing a land drain