Drinking water now tastes bad! Help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After plumbing in the washing machine, the drinking water on my kitchen tap now tastes completely weird and is so bad that I can't drink it or boil it.

It was fine before so I know it has to be the plumbing on the washing machine. I had a look, but being a complete novice, I'm not sure what's gone wrong.

The outlet pipe goes straight onto the spigot...do I need another valve on this?

As it's changed the taste of the drinking water I thought maybe it was the cold inlet hose - is there something else which should be attached to it so that it doesn't mix with the drinking water? There is the usual valve but I wondered if there was something else missing?

Any help much appreciated

Sponsored Links
corgiman said:
have to talked to the your water board??

Hi there, no I haven't as the water was fine up until the point I put the washing machine on. So it seems that the washing machine is the culprit as the second it was in, the cold water tasted odd.

Did you fit a new washing machine tap or a Tee to the cold water pipe? And did you use a jointing compound on it, or solder and flux?

Sponsored Links
my thoughts here are complete coincidence as said above

i would run the water for 2 mins and check the quality if its bad ask 2 or 3 neibours

if theres is ok i would turn the washing machine water supply off at the machine run drinking water for 5 mins

did he do anything up stairs!!!!!
just wondering if your supply is actualy comming from a tank rather than the mains and the source has become poluted [crap knocked into tank]

Metallic or "burnt taste"
Have you had any new copper pipe fitted? If so, might take a while to oxidise, will settle down over about a week.

Chemical taste ("TCP")