"Equal" pay rant!

• Thread starter Deleted member 307320
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 307320

I'm a freelancer in the event industry, have been for over 10 years and am pretty well established.

Been working with someone new for the past couple of days, seemed nice enough, new graduate with sod all experience but seemed keen to learn, so I recommended her to one of my regular clients who've taken her on for a couple of jobs.

Then I made the mistake of asking what day rate she was asking for... It was just a few quid less than mine (the industry standard!)

I'm all for "equality", but when did it become right that two people with dramatically different levels of experience get the same money?!

Last edited by a moderator:
Sponsored Links
I'm a freelancer in the event industry, have been for over 10 years and am pretty well established.

Been working with someone new for the past couple of days, seemed nice enough, new graduate with sod all experience but seemed keen to learn, so I recommended her to one of my regular clients who've taken her on for a couple of jobs.

Then I made the mistake of asking what day rate she was asking for... It was just a few quid less than mine (the industry standard!)

I'm all for "equality", but when did it become right that two people with dramatically different levels of experience get the same money?!

I think you may be behind the times.

What I mean is you have been under valuing yourself. You may want to ask a few others in your industry what their value is.

I'm a plumber I do Gas and central heating. All be it there are more technical gifted out there than me there are also alot of push fit plumbers earning maybe more than me hour for hour job for job.

But there seems to be an industry standard that plumbers/ tradesmen earn X amount.
Or worst still tradesmen who turn up in an estate car with very little tools are my competition.