Flashing Light

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by radsik, 26 Apr 2008.

  1. radsik

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a strange problem that I hope someone can help me with.

    The light on my landing flashes on and off when the switch is in the off position, I think if I change the positions of the light switch downstairs it stops but as it is totally random I have not been able to actualy confirm this, the switch downstairs controls both the lounge light and landing which are on seperate rings. In addition to this the smoke alarm started randomly going off in short bursts last night, this takes it 's power from the landing light so i am thinking it is connected to the flashing bulb.

    My take is that the switch downstairs is faulty, letting current pass through from the downstairs to the upstairs ring giving the bulb (compact flourescent) a short 'pulse' of power. As it is a 15 quid switch I don't really want to replace unless I am sure it is at fault :)

    Thanks for any help.
    Tim
     
  2. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    life is like that, CFL's will do as you have when on a 2 way cct.

    easiest solution is to change the lamp to a non cfl :cry:
     
  3. radsik

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, thanks, is it likely to be related to the smoke? If that is a seperate issue then I will replace it.
     
  4. daytona

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    697
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it sounds like capacative coupling,its not dangerous and you dont have any faults.dont worry about it.
    please dont replace it with a normal lamp,were trying to get away from pointless wastes of energy ;)
     
  5. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    26,018
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    £15 switch?

    It's not a dimmer is it? :eek:
     
  6. radsik

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies. It's not a dimmer, just a 2g toggle type switch.

    If it's not dangerous thats great but my main concern now is the smoke alarm going off randomly. It has happened a few times now, including at 3am last night which scared the **** out of me and the wife, my daughter slept through it somehow even though it's outside her room :confused:
     
  7. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cfl lamps flashing can be anoying, do change it its only 1 lamp.
     
  8. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    26,018
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Kids and teenagers can sleep right through these things - research & experiments has been done in the States to prove that they sleep through ordinary alarms.

    What wakes them is an alarm with a recorded message, ie parent's voice saying "WAKE UP (NAME), THERE IS A FIRE, etc"

    http://bluegenie.eu/smokealarm.asp
     
  9. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,811
    Thanks Received:
    314
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Press and hold the test button for ten secs on the smoke. If that doesn't work, most likely the battery.
     
  10. mdbalson

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    709
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do CFL's do that then when on 2w SW :?: As at home both of my landing lights are on 2w SW's, but they do not flash.
     
  11. radsik

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Done that a few times and it always works on a test, it is a mains one and it's connected to the flashing light so was not sure if that is related to it going off.
     
  12. mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have this, but on the whole lighting circuit.
    (all cfl's flash).

    But it seems that although there is an earth in the fittings, roses etc, there is no actual aearth in the feed wire from the CU, so its floating!
    (yet another job for me to fix).

    Oh the fun of old houses..... ;)
     
  13. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,386
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on a few factors i.e. how the 2 way lighing is wired and length of the switch wire cables.
    If anyone wants to try an experiment to see if this overcomes it: http://www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=726034#726034
     
  14. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,386
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, needs fixing asap if you have any metal fittings, light switches, back boxes etc.
     
  15. mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OH yes it does.
    They have 130v ish from N to E :D
     

Share This Page