help with fitting a ceiling light!

Sponsored Links
the cables do go into connector blocks (as in first pic) and i have taped them up aswell.
should i have put them into some other type of connector to terminate them any better?

well if it did start blue then over the years it has faded and now looks green! the pic doesnt really show it but trust me, it is green!

They should be enclosed, tape is a no no! and all live conductors should be identified via marking or sleeving, earths all sleeved also.
I know you didn't originally install it, but it is potentially dangerous as it stands.
Common three core and earth colours pre 2004 Yellow, Blue, Red and bare earth core.

Sponsored Links
yes but what should they be enclosed in?
as you can probably guess im a bit of a novice when it comes to all this!
i thought insulation tape was ok to use, obviously not just tape, but to wrap around the conn block

so do i just get one of them chocbox's and use it in place of the insulation tape then?

You use it to enclose the termination block, so to prevent accidental contact with live part, remember the sheath of the cables should be within the enclosure also.

As you can see on image, the white sheath of cable is gripped and within the box.
In you case the sheath will be grey

ok no problem thanks a lot , i will invest in a chocbox then!
is it against some sort of regs to use insualtion tape around a conn block as the sparkie i had doing some other wiring recently did exactly that!

ok no problem thanks a lot , i will invest in a chocbox then!
is it against some sort of regs to use insualtion tape around a conn block as the sparkie i had doing some other wiring recently did exactly that!