Hi all, bit of an introduction and a rant! (soz lol)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, Yep this is my 1st post so thought i'd introduce myself before ranting on about something of a safety issue.

I am a fully qualified electrical engineer, trained by the electricity board where I started my 5 year apprenticeship as an electrical fitter in 1990, finished that and went on to qualify as a craft engineer and then a year after that guess what - I got made redundant!

So, any project type or 'out of the ordinary' questions, feel free to message me as im used to working on anything from small electronics upto 132,000 volt systems - also im authorised to work over and above BS7671 which has caused a few heated conversations with some normal sparkies but i do try to get on with everyone :)

Anyway heres my rant:

I had a call this evening from someone who put lots of christmas lighting up round their house, looking very nice indeed. However guess what... the main switch in the consumer unit had melted! This was caused by the terminal screw on the incoming 25mm tail not being tightened properly.

All sorted now, changed switch over and bobs your uncle. with a constant load of 6kW of lighting (all on a green tariff) it doesnt take things long to heat up.

So always check and double check tightness of connections. A 9kW shower on for 20 mins will not cause enough heat to cause this sort of problem due to the short duration the shower is used.

A 3kW kettle definately wont (unless the connection is extremely bad)

6kW of load for 6 hours a day will cause probs on a bad connection.

When terminating conductors, especially 2.5mm inside the back of a socket, always double the copper conductors where possible. The idea is to fill the whole with as much copper as possible so that when the screw tightens, its not just pinching on the 1 strand of copper, but gripping twice the surface area, hence half the resistance ;)