Honeywell "Y" Plan System

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - I'm a newbie here so please be gentle!

I've got a Honeywell Sundial "Y" plan system installed in my house (probably about 20 years old now) and this evening the heating's gone off! The thermostat in the lounge still clicks but it doesn't fire up the boiler. I can still get hot water, however the digital display on the programmer (located in the airing cupboard - Honeywell ST7000) is completely blank, the immersion fused spur still has power to it, so I'm guessing it's not a blown fuse and my instincts are telling me the programmer MAY need replacing??? Am I looking in the right area here?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Sponsored Links
Depends where the programmer gets its power from, dunnit. It shouldn't be on the same fuse as the immersion heater!

u might still have hot water cos its from be 4 the boiler stopped or even the immersions on. is the boiler or pump working or is the whole system down?

Nope - you're quite right, it doesn't! According to the literature it comes from a "sundial wiring centre"! Doesn't help me much sadly!

THe pump was working when I checked earlier, but its not now! The immersions off, we tend not to use it. The boiler is stil working.

Sponsored Links
Highly unlikely, as ChrisR says, that the immersion heater spur also powers your boiler and controls, if it does call a sparks straight away to rectify this.

Dont suppose a bread bin or something has been pushed up aganst a switch in the kitchen or something similar in the airing cupboard has it

Dont laugh you'd be surprised how many jobs i go to and find that lol

First thing I checked Corgiman! The airing cupboard was a little full, but not that it pressed any of the buttons. My main concern is the blank screen on the programmer - can't seem to get any life into that at all!

its probably not getting electris mate.

Is there not a swtich any where that you dont have a clue what its for?