Horizontal unvented cylinder problem.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.
I'm a general builder and have a basic knowledge in plumbing. I have recently had a 'Manco' horizontal cylinder installed in a clients loft next to a new boiler. The boiler and cylinder seem to have been installed properly as all runs well except for hot water. Basically the cylinder wasn't being heating by the primaries. The highest point on the heating circuit is this cylinder and if any air gets into the system it ends up in the cylinder coil which wont vent without a fight! Ive run a hose from the vent/bleed nipple on the primary flow to the tundish, closed the zone valve and opened up the filling loop, it eventually cleared the air from the coil. My concern is that although the problem seems to have been cured, what if (for what ever reason) air was to find it's way back in, I can't ask the client to do what I had to do? I would have thought that the boiler would be able to push the air though and then vent automatically. Manco claimed not to have experienced this problem before and have suggested that if it happens again let them know and they would look into it, which is good news. Anyone heard of this problem before or have any ideas?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Never came across one of these before, but I would thought that an auto air vent at the highest point of the pipe work leading from the top of the coil would suffice

thumbnail.asp

Thanks matt1e.
I fitted an auto air vent after going through all that grief so fingers crossed, though I shouldn't really need to cross'em? There does seem to be a design issue here?

I agree there's been a design issue,but not its not with the manco cylinder,
I think your installer should have just used some "common"

Matt

Sponsored Links
ha ha I did give him a clip round the ear for the auto air vent.

I have read a few other topics regarding problems with horizontal cylinders not venting....hope I'm not going to get recuring problems.