HOUSE ALARM WINDOW SENSOR

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by AnonymousImport, 28 Oct 2002.

  1. AnonymousImport

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WE HAVE RECENTLY HAD NEW WINDOWS AND DOORS FITTED AND ONE OF THE REMOTE WINDOW SENSORS HAS GONE MISSING(PROBABLY IN THE RUBBISH).AS A STOP GAP WOULD I BE ABLE TO DISCONNECT THE WIRES TO THE REMAINING WIRED IN SENSOR AND JOIN THESE TOGETHER TO COMPLETE THE LOOP.ALSO THE WINDOW FRAMES CHAMFER DOWN AT 45 DEGREES SO THE SENSORS THAT ARE COMPLETE DONT MATCH UP SQUARE.
     
  2. AnonymousImport

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You may find that the sensor has 4 wires. One pair forms the "tamper" circuit, which is used to detect if the wires are cut to the sensor. The other pair are the contacts of the sensor itself. You should try to identify the tamper circuit as this will be broken because the sensor s mssing. For the tamper circuit you need to connect the two wires together (as would happen in the sensor if it were there). The other pair can be left, if they were connected together they would signify an "alarm" to the control box. Hope that helps. Paul
     
  3. AnonymousImport

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i beg to disagree with the above; sensors are reed switches and the contacts are kept closed by the magnet; alarm condition is generated[contacts open]when the magnet is serarated from sensor[window open].therefore u need to short out both pairs ,alarm pair and tamper pair.to find out which wires form the pairs unsrew another sensor and note the pairs; the alarm sw in the sensor has silver wires [like staples]connected to the same screw as 1 of ur pair
    hope this help
     
  4. AnonymousImport

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i would have to agree with the second post, leaving the circuit pair open would create an alsrm condition.

    Mind you we are all assuming it is a diy alarm, is it?
     
  5. AnonymousImport

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I posted the first reply and on re-reading I have to apologise that I did get the sensor type wrong. I agree that if they are of the reed type which would be normally closed when in operation, then you would have to short out the pair to over-ride the loss of the sensor.
     

Share This Page