HVLP Spraying metalwork

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm new to the world of paint spraying but have a motorbike frame/mudguards/fuel tank (external) that I need to spray black as part of a restoration. I've been give a decent HVLP setup to use, but now I need to get to the details of what paint system to use. I've done plenty of rattle can spraying on car panels (base + clear) but nothing with an HVLP setup before.

I want a black gloss finish. I won't be going anywhere near 2K paint. I have suitable non-air fed respirators for spraying, and somewhere clean to spray.

Assuming all the metal is roughed to around 600 grit, clean and dry, where do I start?

Do I need a normal metal primer? An etch primer first? Can I spray these with HVLP?

I want to spray black gloss. Will I need black paint and then a lacquer, or are gloss paints glossy without a lacquer? Does the lacquer protect the paint from oil/fuel?

I'm totally confused by the paint types, and what will be suitable for use on an oily motorbike. Should I be looking at acrylic, latex, waterbased, solvent based, something else?

Any tips would be much appreciated. Once I get a rough outline I can do the research and will be fine, but just need some pointers to get going in the right direction. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
I guess 1k paints would be cellulose

Like these:

http://www.carpaint.co.uk/4-cellulose

It says they do motorbike paint I dont know if theres a difference.

I would suggest getting some smooth board or card to do practice spray out on first.

Get some decent quality thinners, paints almost always want thinning.

You need a suitable spray tip size, Im not sure for car paints probably 1.4

Just chiming in as I am interested as well.
Out of interest, what bike?
I would be tempted to either use coach paint or powdercoat on the frame

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Sponsored Links
Just chiming in as I am interested as well.