I,ve had to walk off a job

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i am a young builder new to the game. My first solo job was to build a mammoth extension encorporating steel beams, an 18m steel ridge and some fancy roofing. My customer wished to pay me day rate, to which i cherged £120 per day. The building went up sweet as a nut (trust me its almost the size of her house) in 7 months with just me and my brother labouring.

I was happy and she was happy.
BUT THEN... It was time to do the inside, now bear in mind my price never changed. I fitted her CH system, arranged for a plasterer (for which she would negotiate and pay so that i had nothing to do with it). Fitted the garage door to which i explained i didnt want to. She also talked me into fitting her kitchen which half way through i have had to tell her to stick it.

Whats happened is her and her dads mood has turned very sour and uncomfortable, i was getting blamed for things that had nothing to do with me, i.e plasterer and electrics. Eventually enough disrespect was enough and i left. I rang her a few days later to explain and she was having none of it and said that this will reflect on my reputation (i.e her freinds won't want me). She wouldn't accept that i was being treated badly and that was that. Since then i went back to move her garage door as she wanted it lowing (feeling very uncomfortable) and i didnt charge her for this.

What worrys me is the CH isnt completed, a soak away still needs hard core on top, little snaggs like that. Am i liable for them, or does the fact that there was no contract spare me.
Since then i have told her neirboure (freinds of hers) what i done and they still want me to do there extension but this time i've learned my lesson and we are going to draw up a clear contract to keep all parties happy.
Do i have any responsibilities or anything to worry about from the job i walked off of.

Sponsored Links