Installing a gas hob

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi this is my first ever post to this site and I have to say the info I have obtained is great.

Just bought a house and I am in the process of installing a new kitchen. I have moved a boiler already and plumbed it back in and it has gone very well.

The problem I have is the installation of the gas hob. I have no idea where to obtain the gas fittings to do the job or in fact which fittings to use.

The hob has the usual BSP tapered connector on it. I would imagine that the connector to the gas main would have to be an elbow with an end feed or compression fit on it to the pipe and a threaded connection on the other end of the elbow. Would you use a slip coupling to achieve this fit and where would you obtain this connector.

I have a habit of trying to obtain all the information before I attempt any job. I'm actually an electrician by trade but after the success I have had with redoing the water and the boiler gas I have no problem with plumbing the hob, just don't know what connector to use.

Thanks for any help.

AC

Sponsored Links
With gas, if you have even the slightest doubt, I'd call a professional. The fact you don't know what connector to use shows potential gaps in knowledge. I say call a CORGI registered plumber.

If you'd read all of the correct literature relating to how to install gas equipment, then you'd know what connector to use. Hence, I deduce that you haven't read up on it properly, and you may well miss some other important step, or do something incorrectly when installing the hob.

I know it might seem simple, but even though you're an electrician, and have knowledge in other fields, it is not a good idea to DIY gas.

Thanks for the words,