Keston C25 - Issues

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've been googling Keston C25 problems all night and it seems I'm not alone.

My boiler hasn't worked since May well apart from a few days here and there when the engineer replaces a part! Fortunately, I have a contract with a large energy supply company so haven't had to fork out £££'s - well not so far. Unfortunately they don't seem particularly able to correctly diagnose the fault on my boiler and repair it. They seem fairly convinced that it's the ignition pcb that's failing given that they've replaced it three times in 4 months. Each time they've replaced it the boiler will run for a day or so then eventually it'll fail to ignite displaying the ignition lockout error code. The manual suggests a few reasons for this failure mode one of which is a faulty ignition PCB. Now I'm no expert but it seems to me that continually replacing this suggests that something else is causing the problem. To date I've only seen one engineer (out of 6) actually carry out some kind of fault diagnosis; all the others have looked at it intently before asking for the manual then concluding that it must be the ignition pcb (presumably because that's what the manual suggests) The last engineer that was here did run through all the flowcharts before deciding that it was the ignition PCB which he replaced on Friday and it's failed again tonight with the same error code. Is it possible that there is a fault elsewhere in the boiler that is causing the ignition pcb to fail? The reason I ask is that if some other part of the boiler was failing why does the boiler run for a short time (1-2 days) on a new ignition PCB before failing?