light fitting

Sponsored Links
ahh ok i was wondering if they would be heavy are if i would have to use like a wire holding it to the top ceiling. also there for a hair salon over where they cut hair would they give off the light they need are do you recommend any thing thanx

I'm not an electrician but looked at this when setting out my veterinary practice.

The following is taken from a government website and gives suggested levels.

Lighting Levels in Lux
Type of Visual Task
Examples of Areas

No real detail - seeing to avoid obstacles only
Service ducts

Low levels of detail - seeing to avoid tripping or to differentiate between different packages
Stores and low-use corridors

Some detail - seeing to read package labels and to manoeuvre pedestrian-operated trucks
Loading bays and most normal-use corridors

Medium detail - seeing to read large dials or reasonably sized print
Circulation areas, normally unoccupied plant rooms

Medium detail on a regular basis - seeing to write notes or to undertake light maintenance work
Lecture theatres, light carpentry (sawing and assembly)

Some detail regularly with some colour judgement - seeing to read and write continually
General offices, light engineering areas (not machinery) and kitchens

High detail - seeing to work with small parts or where there is low contrast
Drawing offices and sign painting

Very high detail - seeing to discern very small or intricate items or where accurate colour judgement is needed
Electronic maintenance, small component assembly and tool rooms

Extremely fine detail and colour accuracy - seeing to spot small errors in printing or artwork; lighting of this level can cause fatigue after a relatively short time
Print-checking stations and hand tailoring

In the end we reckon we wanted 750-1000 lux.

The fitting or tube manufacture should give you some idea of lux level for a given ceiling height. Factor in the brightness and reflectiveness of ceiling, floor and wallcoverings