Lights tripping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi..I have 3 20w outside led spots connected to 6A RCD..there is a fault somewhere which i haven't looked for but the 6A doesn't trip, its the 63A that trips..any ideas

Sponsored Links
63A?

And when you say the 6A Rcd, do you mean a 6Amp fused spur unit?

If the lighting is ultimately supplied via a RCD in the consumer unit, there may be water in one of the fittings. In such as case, the RCD will trip, and not neccessarilly one of the MCBs.

I am not an electrician, a photo of your consumer unit (pointing out the bit that trips) will help proper electricians to advise you further.

Last edited:
Sounds like a single RCD, protecting several circuits, or perhaps the entire CU.

All the OP can do, is disconnect the middle of the run of lights, then see if it trips - if it does it's a fault on the still connected light(s), if not the problem is on the section disconnected.

Sponsored Links
Sorry MCB doesnt trip.the 63A does
Screenshot_20231006_184354_Chrome.jpg

When you say 36, do you mean 63?

Can you post a pic here of the tripping device?

I suspect it is an RCD. In which case, there will probably be a fault sending current down to earth somewhere.

Maybe a damaged cable?

The previous advice is good. Split the circuit and go from there.

Thanks..I know there is a fault ive yet to find.but why doesn't this 6A mcb trip out..I'll change it for a new one

The 6A MCB would trip when the circuit is drawing more than 6 amps, this is very unlikely on a lighting circuit unless the live wire is touching neutral or earth. Don't waste your time changing it, there is almost certainly nothing wrong with it.