Loft Conversion - Removing Water Tank

NHW

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am considering having a loft conversion in my property, i know that there are 2 water tanks in the loft (large one for the bath, small one for the central heating) but i would rather do without these in the loft because i am after as much space as possible in the loft and having to build around two tanks would obviously take up a needless amount of space.

I'm not a plumbing expert but i think my system is a conventional one at the moment (boiler in kitchen, cylinder in airing cupboard, water tank in loft).

Also Since we have moved into the property the water pressure in the shower has been quite non-existent, it basically just feels like its dripping out of the shower head instead of actually pressuring out, so this was something already on our 'to-do' list.

So for the purpose of:

1. Getting rid of the need of water tanks in the loft
2. getting more pressure from the water

Would i need a specific type of boiler to meet the requirements above?

I will list the amount of rooms that have water outlets just incase this is needed:

Downstairs toilet - taps & toilet
Kitchen - taps
Bathroom - toilet, bath, taps
upstairs en suite - toilet, shower, taps

Sponsored Links
Depending on how many live in the house, you may get away with a combi boiler. But a safer option is a System boiler and an unvented HW cylinder.

In either case you need a good incoming cold water flow rate and pressure.

If you have a garden tap, measure the flow rate when it is fully open (litre marked bucket and watch). Then repeat with the kitchen cold tap on at the same time. You need at least 20 litres/min for test 1 and 10 lpm for test 2.

If less than that, you may have to upgrade the incoming cold water main.

Depending on how many live in the house, you may get away with a combi boiler. But a safer option is a System boiler and an unvented HW cylinder.