New bathroom what do I need to know?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have decided to rip out the old bathroom suite since it is really old and worn out from back in the 1960s.
I am going to buy a sink, toilet and bathtub which will have a shower attached to the mixer tap as I don't want an electric shower. I have seen some nice suites online, nothing fancy but a big improvement from what I have now and need to know what I need to buy for each item because I have never done this before and want to make sure I buy exactly what I need:

What items will I need for the toilet, sink, bathtub with shower.

I won't tile or paint the bathroom until the suite is installed as I think that should be done last and I would be grateful for any advice or information thank you.

Sponsored Links
Hard to say what you will need as it all depends what comes with whatever you buy and size of wastes etc... taps might come with flexible hoses or nothing etc... you might need some 15mm copper pipe and solder, torch etc.. or maybe you aren't comfortable with soldering so you will use plastic/pushfit. Your waste pipes might need moving or extending etc..

Only tips I can offer at this moment is don't use pushfit waste, and remember to fill the tub with water when siliconing etc... You might be out of your depth in some areas so don't be scared to either ask for help on here (photos help no end) or be prepared to call in a plumber do to the final fixes.

oh and be prepared to have no bathroom facilities for several days while your doing all the work etc.. so make provisions for bodily functions :D especially if you come to finish the toiler but find you need a part and the diy shops are closed so you have to wait till the next day to finish.

Hmmm what do you need to know? That's a broad question, but....

• A decent quality suite isn't cheap
  • It's called a basin. Sinks go in kitchens