New gas central heating system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I plan to install a new gas combi central heating system in my new house, it currently has night storage heaters. I am a fully qualified Plumber and was also CORGI registered but no longer work in the trade. Obviously I want to do the work myself but an ex-colleague has advised the gas safe regulations state I cant touch the gas side. I class myself as a competent person and the installation is in my own home and 'not for profit'. I have considered leaving the gas work to an RGI but the initial ones I have consulted are not keen on doing only a small part of the installation. Can anyone advise?

Sponsored Links
If you have the knowledge and the equipment, just do it.

+1

As long as you're not too worried about having the I s dotted and T s crossed in the paperwork.

You may well have much more experience than many of the RGIs you employ to do the work.

Sponsored Links
If you do it and discuss with an RGI who will come and commission it to ensure you get the warranty then he is not likely to charge much.

Depending on where you are then Tim is a helpful fellow. Not seen him posting lately though so I hope he is alright.

Tony

Trouble is, if an RGI carries out a commission only, he's taking responsibility for someone else's work including the stuff that can't be seen. No offence to the OP, he may be a top notch plumber, but if there's subsequently an issue with the installation, the commissioning installer will carry the can.

Should remember that alot of top class plumbers were lost because they did not want to get involved with the politics/red tape/ and expense of corgi and gas safe, but if a home owner installs his own c/h system and an RGI wont commission the system his only fall back is to contact builings control and pay for the honour to get it signed off.