Old Glow-Worm 45-60B

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have an old Old Glow-Worm 45-60B. The boiler keeps cutting out, that is the main burner shuts off after a minute or 2 of running and is back burning within 5 minutes.

The pump keeps running and the thermostat in the hall is nowhere near the desired temperature.

Any help would be appreciated.

I am a novice but want a heads up before calling in someone for repair. I could do with it seeing me through one more winter.

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Is the pump pulling the heat away from the boiler? If rads are slow to heat it could be a circulation issue rather than the boiler.

Not very scientific, but listening to the rads, you can hear water seemingly rushing through. Is there a simple way to test the flow?

Sponsored Links
Feel the pipes by the rad valves. One for every rad, starting with the rads nearest the pump, should start to get warm.

The rads do get very warm eventually, it just takes up to an hour with the boiler cut outs.

Still sounds like it's a circulation issue rather than the boiler. Has the system got sufficient water in it and what colour is this water? Black would indicate sludge, which is a common issue causing poor circulation!

Check smaller of probable 2 cisterns (tanks) in the loft, does this contain water? (Should be about 1/3rd full). Bleed a radiator, if water dribbles out a filthy black colour then sludge likely an issue.

The boiler is probably over rated for the heat load compounded by a poor flow rate due to a weak or blocked pump. See FAQ on finger test.

The boiler flow temp is probably reaching the set 70 C or whatever and turning off as it should.

You should measure the temps on boiler flow and return pipes. Should be up to 11 C difference. I suspect due to poor flow its more than this!

Tony

I've drained down and refilled the system, using mains pressure to push out what we can, not much sludge came out, the water looks reasonably clean.