Oven electrics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am trying to have a new oven and gas hob put in, the big appliance company came round to deliver and install today, one look at the wiring though and they said they couldn't continue - hardwired to a switch is a 32 amp wire connecting by way of some messy wiring to the current oven and hob. I need an electrician to come and put two spurs in - one normal and one 13 amp - into a socket mount flash with the wall to allow enough space.

I called an electrician around this afternoon and he quoted £280 - I send him away.

I have some experience changing switches and wonder how much I can do myself... not everything i gather.

I am sure I can set up the mount boxes in the wall, using metal ones and placing so that the 32 amp wire will run horizontally to them, and screwing to masonry behind.

Are there other things to consider?

My main questions at this stage:
How deep do the mounts need to be? I have some 3.5 cm and 2.5 cm metal ones in the loft.
Do the mounts need to be certain space apart?

Thank you if you can help!

Sponsored Links
Hi,

at the end of the day it is up to you, your choice.

But may I point you in the direction of part p?

Kitchens and bathrooms are notifiable areas.

And making alterations to a kitchen circuit, may seem trivial but do your changes take into consideration the load carrying capacity of existing cables.. can they handle the load or do they need uprating?

Also, a lack of testing and a certificate may cause problems if your changes come to light should you sell your house in the future.

Only a registered electrician can do the necessary testing and issue a certificate and notify to building control.

Alternatively you can notify to building control yourself, but this is more often more expensive than getting an electrician in and more trouble than it is worth in some instances.

If you would like to save some money, best compromise would be,