Please help:Netaheat electronic boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My mother has a old netaheat electronic boiler which fails to stay on once lit. When the system is started it goes through the usual clicks and the burner comes on. After a minute or so the burner goes off and the click cycle starts again. After a a few attempts the burner comes back on and runs for a few minutes. After this the boiler and fan just stop altogether. At this point switching the system off from the mains and restarting fails to initiate the ignition process. The boiler casing is very hot to touch and the boiler thermostat is set on a 4.

Any help appreciated

Sponsored Links
Boiler's probably fine!
Check pump, and F&E tank.
Sounds like a circulation problem.

I'm new to all this but here goes

1) Pump is Grundfos. I removed the silver screw from side and the rotor/propellor can be seen spinning. Does this suggest that it is OK? When this problem started and the system had been on for about an hour I noticed that the pipes either side of the pump where warm (10cm) and the pump itself was warm.

2) Is F&E the feed and expansion tank and would this be the one in the loft containing the ball? (Excuse my use of non technical terms). Do I jusyt have to check that it is filling OK?

No.
Check the F&E actually has water in it!

If pump turning and (apparently) water in the system, then the next possibility is an airlock somewhere preventing circulation.

If the pump and nearby pipes are warming up but NOT due to heat from the boiler, some sort of blockage is even more likely.

Sponsored Links
Pump may still be faulty I.E impellor has broken from shaft. Is the heating and hot water working O K ?

1)The expansion tank has water in it and the ball valve seems OK

2)I have removed the outer casing of the pump and the pump/shaft is turning OK when system powered up