Power flush required yes or no?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So just had a new boiler installed today to replace my 17 year old potterton.

The original quote included boiler fitting, all parts (flue, piping, magnaclean etc) and a power flush.

As the day went on and the boiler was fitted and other work done I noticed no power flusher was connected or used and this evening I was told ok nearly finished just a few last bits.

I asked are you coming back tomorrow to do the power flush then and the reply I got was I have checked the water and is clean so does not need a power flush. I reminded him it was included in the quote and also from reading lots of stuff on the internet regarding warranty and stuff it is a must.

He seems reluctant to come back and do it, am I right to push for this and if he tells me the water is clean and doesn't need doing is that right?

The guy is really nice and I'm not really good at being strict so just need something to backup that it needs doing or shall I leave it not being done.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
The water was clean on the install I did this week. I put the powerflush on it and got a load of filth out of the radiators. Powerflush takes best part of a day to do properly. Ask for a reduction in the labour charge if he isn't going to do the flush.

Hi Hootingowl thank you for the reply. I did consider that and then pay someone else to do the flush I.e. Deduct the cost from his original quote that someone else would charge me.

However my question from what you have answered is if I deduct the labour charge from the quote and not get a flush done will my newly installed boiler function ok and still be covered under warranty if it has an issue if he does not do a power flush?

Thanks

What boiler have you had installed? Some manufacturers will use any excuse to shirk the warranty and some boilers react badly to dirty systems.

Sponsored Links