Rip off Plumb Centre!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just been to Plumb Centre at lunch to get a few bits for a job I'm doing, was expecting to pay about £20 and came out with £53 of stuff!

Here's what I bought:

Solder
Flux
Double check valve
Isolating valve
Outside tap and wall fitting
2 drain valves
3 washing machine taps
20 pipe clips

That was all for 15mm pipework and the total from PlumbCenter was £53.61!

Pricing all that up on ScrewFix came to £19.27!

What's going on?!

Sponsored Links
I guess you were willing to pay for the convenience of a local shop, and they were willing to take your money. Sorry. :(

I am very new to all this, still being at college etc and I guess that's just a lesson learnt. I just thought that Plumb Centre would be quite competitive, guess I was wrong!

So do you plumbers buy most of your parts from places like ScrewFix?

I find Screwfix very cheep for all that kind of stuff, for boilers etc I also found Mr central heating (precede with www. and end with .com for the website) was very cheep for boilers etc. I am not a plumber though, so people may have better suggestions. Also both deliver.

Sponsored Links
I can't believe I paid that much money for all those bits, everything was behind the counter and just put in the bag as I asked for it so I couldn't see what the prices were like until I got the total.

It takes something like this to realise how much you can waste your money! I've learnt my lesson and will not make the same mistake again!

Damn Plumb Centre...

I'm too late now anyway, in a way it's my own fault for not getting the parts I need sooner as I'm doing the job on Saturday.

Has anyone bought those bulk bags of end fittings that are going on Ebay? Just wondered if they're any good?