unable to buy parts without a corgi ticket horaaayyyyyy

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi i have been an engineer ref 001465 for over 25 years and at last companies are refusing to sell parts to anyone without a corgi licence

i have heard from jan 1st 2008 all companies will have to comply by law

it's about time so we can get rid of the endless cowboys who think they can repair anything charge what they like and when a qualified engineer walks in the door gets grilled due to the previous idiots

was wondering what you guys thought about this, plus i cannot wait until the DIY stores stop selling boilers and gas fire to anyone, we have to go through the exams every 5 years so i am all for stopping the so called DIY's atempting to fix there gas appliances without any regard or risking blowing up there neighbours

thxs for listening and feel better getting that off my chest

heating tech

Sponsored Links
I'm not a plumber, just a customer, and I for one am totally for this!!!

Didnt know this was happening, good though that it is!

heating tech said:
hi i have been an engineer ref 001465 for over 25 years....................

heating tech

You're not an engineer. Why do you have the Username " heating tech" when you call yourself an engineer? You don't know your own occupation after 25 years?

I'll have to check the details of the rest of your post so no comment at the moment.

PS An elderly lady of my acquaintance smelt gas around a recently installed gas hob, so she called the Corgi registered technician who had installed it. He fixed it. He charged her £50. WTF?

A young relative of this lady thought there was still an intermittent smell of gas. I checked it with leak detection fluid. It leaks around a compression joint. It's rigid pipework and doesn't move, so why would it start leaking again? *

When I'm next there, I'll fix it. Properly. Free.

Any chance that the Corgi registered cowboys will be sorted out? No, none at all.