Connecting Lights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there,

I don't know much about electrics so I would appreciate your help. So... I am an art student and i would like to make a decoration lighting for an exhibition Im taking part in. The idea is that next to everyones artwork you would have a small golfball 15 watt lamp. There are 10 pieces therefore 10 lamps.I was thinking that the easiest way to make my mini circuit is to connect all 10 lamps and lampholder onto one "circuit board" (is that what they are called? you know those long plastic thing with many inserts for wires) and from their to a standart plug. Does that sound safe? Is it called a "circuit board" and if not what is it called? If you have any other suggestions please feel free to share with me!
Thank you in advance :(

Sponsored Links
Those long plastic things with many inserts for wires? Nope, no idea, unless you mean a terminal block/strip/choc-block, in which case that wouldn't be the best (or indeed safest without a proper enclosure + cord grips) way to do it.

What sort of lamp holder do you intend on using? If a normal pendant holder will do the job then you can simply use 3A 2 core flex and loop in and out of each lampholder with a 13A plug (fused at 3A of course!) on the other end.

Oh, and if this is for an exhibition then you might want to consider the possible liability issues if this turns out to be unsafe. Aren't there any electrical students that can lend you a hand?

Thank you for your quick reply,

I believe that must be called a choc block.

I do intend to use normal screw on cap lampholders (like pendants).What I didnt mention earlier is that i will have the lamps fixed(maybe even taped) on the wall and they will be 1 m apart (approximately) so i will have lots and lots of wire going round the room. (the room size is 6x6 m) I know that lots of wires on the floor sound dodgy but i believe that it will work aestheticly.