central heating - filling the system help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Right where to start....
how about i thought i knew what i was doing but it turns out afterall that i dont!! :(

drained the central heating system today via the front room radiator. (i was having a sludge problem and it wasnt heating as it should). took the radiator off, flushed it out with a hose pipe - put new valves on it. Replaced the bedroom radiator which is directly above - and put new valves on it.
I've drained it before and re-filled it and never had any trouble - just never changed valves or a radiator before.
ANyway, radiators back on and in place - i went to fill the system via the filling loop - and nothing!! Rang someone my dad knows who isnt a plumber by trade but knows what he is doing and alls he said was to open the bleed valves and then try it - but that didnt work either. He is going to come and have a look tomorrow night for me but ideally i would like a shower tonight!!

It feels as if water is already in the loop but its just not moving along. I have no heating either because the boiler shuts down when the water pressure is below a certain level.

can anyone help in the most fool proof way possible - p.s i am female haha

Sponsored Links
There is a non return valve on the filling loop, these sometimes stick, as you have the system drained its easy to disconnect the valve and see if the plastic ball will move when you push it. View media item 25843

Are there two taps on your filling loop, maybe, and the mains is turned on?
Usually the flexible kinds are left disconnected where possible, so you can see if water is starting to pass into the boiler.
If it starts to work, pressure up to 1.5 bar, then bleed each rad, repressurising as you go. When alls done, maintain the pressure at about 1 bar.
John :)