Ace High boiler - no CH

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all - newbie here with a problem...

Today I replaced the diaphragm on my Halstead Ace High combi boiler. All went well, I now have hot water again. It's the second time in 10 years I've done this, so not a virgin to the (non gas) side of the boiler.

HOWEVER - I now have no CH.

The CH was on for about half an hour after I powered up the boiler again this lunchtime - then went off, and hasn't been on since.

Going through some fault finding - I'm getting 230V across terminals 1&2, as expected and the CH thermistor is giving a reading of around 12K. This is as expected too? Odly though, if I disconnect the CH thermistor and power up the boiler, it ignites for about 10 seconds before shutting off again.

Does anyone have any other suggestions? I'd rather not shell out £200+ for a new pcb is there's another component I should be looking at first - or indeed have misunderstood the thermistor resistance, and it indeed is dead.

I should add that the DHW is working perfectly. The boiler fires up when hot water is drawn and it's piping hot. Just no CH.

I do have an external thermostat which controls the CH - that's clicking at around 14 degrees at the moment. It's been on the boiler for at least 5-6 years, and have no reason to suspect that's faulty.

Any other diagnostics would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
Thanks mandate - sadly that's a dead link & I can't seem to find that pdf on their site. Maybe its been taken down?

Sponsored Links
The diaphragm PUSHES the diverter shuttle to the CH position, it returns to DHW duty under spring force. Perhaps the diverter shuttle is stuck in the DHW position (and it being sticky could be why the diaphragm failed?).
FROM MEMORY...