Adding supply to a RCD side of split Consumer Unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I am a bit of aspiring electrician and having been doing quite a bit of reading on electrics and circuit design. I thinking of setting myself the task of trying to re-vamp my kitchen with a new seperate ring and have started to design the circuit requirements etc. My question is principally about discrimination, but have added my designs to date to give you the full picture. (I live in a small one bed flat)

CURRENT SETUP:
Service Fuse = 60A (I think)
Main switch on CU = 100A MCB.

This main switch serves;
Lights (6A MCB)
Door bell (6A MCB)
30 mA RCD (In = 63A)

The RCD then serves:
Ring Circuit (32A MCB)
Cooker circuit with socket (16A MCB)

(Type B MCB's)

PROPOSALS:
To add to the 30mA RCD side of CU so that it serves:
New Kitchen Ring Circuit (32A MCB)
Rest of Flat Ring Circuit (32A MCB)
Cooker Circuit (16A MCB)
Out House Radial Circuit (sockets only) (32A MCB)
(Propose to have sub CU in out house)

Allowing for Diversity:
Socket circuits = 100% for first circuit, 40% for remaining circuits
= 32 + (40% of 32*2) = 57.6A

Cooker circuit = 100% up to 10A + 30% balance + 5A for Socket
Cooker = 2.8Kw = 12.2A @ 230V
= 10 + (30% of 2.2A) + 5A for socket = 15.66A

Total Current for RCD Side = 73.26A

Therefore propose to add a 30mA RCD rated at 80A.
BUT... and here is my question...

My discrimination table tells me that a 80A fuse will not discriminate with a 100A fuse. As I understand it, this could therefore technically blow my 100A main switch at the same time (i.e my lights), leaving me in the dark when according to the regs it should not.

Any suggestions helpful comments?

Thanks

Andrew

Sponsored Links
Maximum and diversity is a bit of a black art and not a precise science. Practically speaking you have a reasonably small property without any outrageuosly high loads (eg no 10.5KW shower).
Even your oven could be plugged into a standard socket.